Living Lent: World Down Syndrome Day

Today is 3/21, also known as World Down Syndrome Day!  Today’s post is dedicated to my little brother and every beautiful soul that got a little extra love from God–in the form of an extra 21st chromosome.  While in some ways the word “disability” makes sense to me, I find that it limits expectations all too often.  What individuals with Down syndrome may “lack” by the average person’s standards is far surpassed by everything they do have.  As I have mentioned in previous posts, my brother has taught me so much about determination, hard work, forgiveness, and unconditional love.  No one can bring a smile to my face like he can.

heartbeat international

Like this adorable poster reminds us, true love doesn’t count chromosomes.  It doesn’t count shortcomings or wrongs.  Every single child is formed by the loving hands of God, and God does not make mistakes.  Though I cannot pretend to understand what it is like to be the parent of a special needs child, I do understand how such a child has completed my life, my family, and so many other families I have had the joy of meeting over my lifetime.  From being involved in Luke’s therapy, classes, special olympics teams, and life in general; to working with Camp Joy and Joni & Friends campers at Bonclarken for several summers; to every story I read about lives transformed by an extra chromosome, I thank God for these individuals.

Speaking of heartwarming stories…read this one or this one, or take some time to watch this ESPN video or this video.  

From me to you, happy world Down syndrome day and God bless!

In Christ,
Christine

buddies! siblings

a precious moment between my mom & little brother ♥

a precious moment between my mom & little brother ♥

dancing with my dear brother at my sister's wedding-one of my favorite pictures ever! ©Marni Rothschild Pictures,LLC

dancing with my dear brother at my sister’s wedding-one of my favorite pictures ever!
©Marni Rothschild Pictures,LLC

Luke and I matched PJs..we're so cute.

Luke & I got dressed up for his Special Olympics prom last summer

Luke & I got dressed up for his Special Olympics prom last summer

isn't he a stud in his tux & bowtie?

isn’t he a stud in his tux & bowtie?

precious.

3 comments on “Living Lent: World Down Syndrome Day

  1. Jay West says:

    Christine,

    I have two sons that attend Erskine, Jack and Brice West. Their grandmother, Ann Brice, founded Camp Joy almost forty years ago. You most likely have heard of Camp Joy and if not, it is a camp for special friends such as Luke.

    I just wanted to thank you for posting such a wonderful blog about your relationship with Luke. One thing I have learned over my years attending Camp Joy and watching my three sons work the camp, is the special love that perpetually exists among special people. They truly understand the definition of unconditional love. Actually we benefit for more from their association with us.

    I am so proud of your relationship with Luke and I appreciate you giving me and other readers a glimpse into the his life and yourlove for him.

    Dr. Jay West

  2. RameyLady says:

    What a fantastic post! And I love all the photos. So much love! :)

Comments are closed.