The Fruits of the Spirit

I would like to begin by saying that I had a fabulous Christmas break and I hope you enjoyed yours as well. Christmas trees, cookies, and presents all seemed to go too quickly and now it is that time of the year where new resolutions begin as we all try to get back into the groove of school and work. Luckily, I have the opportunity to make this transition during J-term rather than jumping right back into spring classes. Although it is only day four, it is safe to say that this could be one of the most amazing months I have had here at Erskine.

After attending my morning class, taking a two hour nap, and eating some dinner, I dove into a book I have been waiting to read. (During the regular semester, I don’t find much time for leisure reading). It is an inspirational book from a Christian perspective. During my reading yesterday, I came across this quote, “In particular, when we are in the flow of the Spirit, we become increasingly full of the fruit of the Spirit: ‘love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.’ The best indicator that I am living in the flow is the growth of the fruit.” I feel that J-term is offering a more relaxed academic environment that is allowing me to focus more on my spiritual fruit growth.

Well, last night I worked on more than one growth of the fruit as I spent the evening playing Apples to Apples and Bananagrams with a few close friends and some people I have never had the chance to hang out with. As simple as it may sound, taking a break from the stresses and ordinary focuses of life to spend time playing games actually makes me feel closer to God. Through these moments, I am able to regain focus on the more important meanings of life that aren’t associated with good grades and money. Rather, I get to enhance my spiritual growth through laughter with other brothers and sisters in Christ. I feel that J-term is allowing me the time to enhance my Christian walk through the most simple interactions and thought-provoking discussions that are often overlooked during the busier days.

2 comments on “The Fruits of the Spirit

  1. Fred Guyette says:

    A good article on The Fruits of the Spirit is:

    Robert C. Roberts, “The Fruits of the Spirit” Reformed Journal 1987, v. 37 no. 2: 9-13.

    Erskine students may access this article through ATLA Religion Database (via McCain Library’s website) in PDF format.

  2. Great post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I treatment for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

Comments are closed.