This weekend Erskine will be holding that event fondly known as the Spring Presidential Scholarship Competition…which, as I recall, caused great fear and trembling in my household when I was preparing to attend the competition two years ago. Although the weekend is inevitably a rather stressful one for prospective students who are trying to determine where they’ll make their home for the next four years, the two-day event is a lot of fun…for both prospective students and for Erskine students.

Ever since first semester freshman year, I’ve looked forward to scholarship weekends as a fun-filled and wonderful opportunity to get to know some of the visitors who will become my classmates at Erskine in the coming semester. And although such weekends often fall amidst the busyness of exams and other commitments, I’ve never regretted time spent talking late into the night with prospective students. Even when students don’t end up choosing Erskine, I get to have some awesome conversations; and when visiting students do choose Erskine, they often end up becoming amazing, dear friends the next year. Definitely a fun and worthwhile way to spend a Friday and Saturday evening!

Another thing I love about scholarship weekends is the way in which putting on an event causes the Erskine community to come together. Certainly, community isn’t something that simply “happens” on occasion…but as everyone grows busy with individual studies, activities, and events,Lovely ladies with Schadell after last year's pageantthe atmosphere of close-knit community that makes Erskine so unique sometimes fades into the background. The opportunity to welcome visitors, though, brings us together in a very tangible way which extends far beyond those of us who are actively helping run the event. Most everyone goes out of their way to be friendly and welcoming…and that, I remember, was something that struck me about Erskine when I first visited almost three years ago.

What other exciting events are taking place this weekend? Well, the campus-wide talent show dubbed “Erskine’s Got Talent” will be held Friday night, and the Miss Erskine Pageant (held by the Athenians to raise funds for Relay for Life) will be on Saturday. And after seeing a preview of some of the awesome talents that are going to be on display, I have no doubt that these will be fun events for the whole campus!