College means trying new things

Although Erskine is a small college, don’t let anyone fool you – there is plenty to do here and students are extremely involved.  In fact, the longer you are here the more careful you have to be to not get over-committed, because there are so many activities and organizations to participate in.  However, college is so much more than just schoolwork, and extracurricular activities are a great opportunity to get to know people, have fun, and try new things.

Something that I have recently become involved in that I never saw myself doing is writing for the school newspaper.  One of my friends is heading up the revamped Mirror, our college publication, that is going to be starting soon in an online version.  A couple of months ago she told me her ideas for the newspaper, and we discussed exciting columns and interesting stories that she could include.  I told her that I might be interested in contributing a small column, or helping with a little editing, but that I wasn’t sure I had the time or the talent to do more than that.

A few weeks later, after a staff meeting for interested students that I was unable to attend, I received an e-mail with two article assignments.  Oh no!  I panicked for a minute, swearing that I never volunteered (which I sort of did), and thinking that there was no way I could write for the paper.  However, after reading the assignments and actually thinking about it for a few minutes, I decided to be daring and accept them.  Why not?

Of course, being a college student, I procrastinated until the week before the deadline to start these articles.  Finally, I decided to at least start them, since this was going to be a new experience for me.  The first was fairly easy – a quick, fun article that I finished without much trouble.  The second was more involved, and required some interviewing and good writing – an Op Ed piece.  Oh, dear.  So, I struggled for a couple of days to get a good concept of what I wanted to write, because, well, I had never done this before and I wanted it to be decent.  Finally, I sat down, collected my thoughts, and started seriously writing. . . and an article was finished about an hour and a half later that was not half bad, if I do say so myself.

Sometimes I berate myself for my willingness to be a part of so much on campus, because there are days when it feels like there simply is not enough time to fit everything in.  But then there are times like these when I remember that it is good to try new things, and entirely worth it when the result is something that I am proud of.

(Interested?  You can read it at: http://www.erskinemirror.com/ )