Sisters… and Friends

Coming back from Spain in the fall, it was strange enough to get used to America and little ol’ Due West again.  Although Erskine is near and dear to my heart, it changed while I was away and I changed even more, so putting the two back together again was not something that happened smoothly or overnight.  One of the biggest changes for me was having my little sister attending my college this year.

With my little sister, Christine, a couple of years ago.

Christine and I a couple of years ago.

Now that the semester is over, it is interesting to look back at how my relationship with my sister has changed this year.  Although I knew she was there in the fall, settling in as I did a couple of years ago, driving back with her and walking into my first class back – J-term, so there was only one class all month – and seeing her actually there was something that it took a while for me to get used to.

If you have ever gone to school with a sibling, you know that the dynamics can be… interesting, at times.  Christine and I also shared a room for most of our lives and we are quite different, in many respects, so we had plenty of sharing and compromise over the years.  I had gotten used to Erskine being where I lived and my family just.  However, unlike sharing disputes when we were little over important issues such as usage rights of the middle back seat during long car trips or whose Barbie that outfit belonged to, it’s nice to know that we are mature enough now to just talk things out and move on.

Although not every day is wonderful (because of course we still argue and get on each other’s nerves sometimes – we are sisters, after all), we are friends more now than we have ever been.  In fact, we are actually going to room together this summer, for the first time in a few years, and I am really not nervous about it – I am convinced that even when disagreements arise we will be able to handle them well and not kill each other.  Because, well, life is too short to stay peeved at your family all the time, and we are all imperfect.

Besides, the way I see it, you’re stuck with your family no matter what, so you might as well love them no matter what.