Miami, Florida

Once I got back home from Europe, I had a day to wash clothes and repack for a quick mini family vacation to Florida!

I just got back today and it was great to spend time with the family and just relax. It was one more chance to escape reality before summer jobs and chores around the house begin to consume my summer schedule.

We arrived on Friday and went to the beach to catch some sun. Mom claims that I get dark too easily, so she forces me to sit under an umbrella. It’s ok though, I mean I am naturally pretty tan anyway. lol It’s only fair I let her catch up. Then we went out for dinner and relaxed by the pool til it was time to go to bed. The next day we got to go to Billie’s Swamp Safari. Out in the boonies of Florida, there is an Indian reservation and swamplands that have been turned into a tourist destination. We got on an airboat that drove us around the swamp. We saw tons of alligators and other critters. It was pretty neat and apparently the show Swamp Men is taped in the very swamplands that we got to explore. We also took a safari out into the land and saw tons of buffalo, pigs, horses, and antelope. It was really neat to see nature a little more up close and personal.

Our last day we went down to South Beach. It was pretty awesome. A lot of mainstream artists were in Miami for the weekend so there were parties all along the beach. But since we were on a family vacation, we all behaved ourselves. ha. We did have a good time on our on though just soaking up the sun, getting to talk as a family, and just enjoy each other’s company.

All in all, I’d say that we had a great mini vacation. It is truly such a blessing being able to travel like I do. I’m so blessed to have both of my parents work in the travel industry. Even if you can’t afford an extravagant trip, I highly recommend getting out there and exploring places other than your home. I’ve found that you can learn so much about other cultures, different types of people, and even learn more about yourself, when you travel.