My last 3 days…

I felt time winding down as graduation inched closer and closer. Finishing this chapter in my life didn’t bring tears or sadness, but energy and excitement! I have called Erskine/Due West my home over the past 2 years but I didn’t shed a single tear my last 3 days. Why? As the seniors wrap up their undergrad everything seems so rewarding. Ranging from awards, no final exams, senior activities, beautiful whether, graduation gifts, etc the past 4 years of working hard has paid off! Also, being surrounded by so many people I cared about, sadness didn’t have the opportunity to set in. My mom and 2 sisters were down for graduation and I spent time with friends I had grown so close to, what more could I want!

The 4 Albers girls spent a fun and relaxing day in the neat and beautiful city, Greenville. They fell in love with the artsy atmosphere of neat shops. On this particular weekend, talented artists took over Main Street to show off their art for Artisphere. We simply took free ganders at the masterpieces and took home the insight it gave us. Among the artsy city, tranquility lines the streets. The sidewalks are creatively lined with quotes to ponder as you roam the city. Also, the Reedy river and park runs free in the heart of the town giving a place for families, like my own, to enjoy nature right in the midst of a large city! We all agreed that we have never been to a city like Greenville. I am so glad my family was able to enjoy one of the neatest cities in South Carolina.

awards banquet

Volleyball gave me a sense of identy for 10 plus years. In return, I was molded into the individual I am today because of the family we became.

The graduation festivities continued after graduation as well. I was extremely happy that I was able to say goodbye to my volleyball team over a meaningful farewell dinner. Looking down the table at all the girls, I saw young ladies, scholars, collegiate athletes and fellow members of the Erskine community. They all have developed so much in each one of those roles over the past 2 years. I am excited to see what time brings for these energy-filled, genuine individuals.

The past 3 days has told me that I have so much to be thankful for. And tears were shed because of that as I was homebound. Along with my team, I developed so many skills, befriended lifelong companions and had an experience unable to be replicated by another individual. So my challenge to you is to embrace all you have. Seek what interests you, act with a strong drive and love like you won’t have a heart tomorrow. So when you have just 3 days left of high school, college, the week or a vacation, you can wear a smile tagged with pride of who and where you have been!