Only at Erskine…

So i just got back in from having lunch with a friend from Erskine. And you know what? I had such a great time.

I know Erskine is small. It’s in the middle of what seems like nowhere. People know all your business…BUT the kind of friendships you can build at a school like Erskine is truly something special. I thank God for the wonderful people I’ve been able to meet through Erskine. Today’s lunch date definitely reminded me to be thankful for those relationships and to make sure I don’t take them for advantage.

I know it seems like your life revolves around your usual circle of friends in high school, but to be honest I only talk to about 3 people from my high school on a regular basis and I went to a small private high school. Not to say that friendships from high school don’t matter, but once you’re older and all of you are separated that’s when the test of true friendship occurs. Even though some friendships from high school didn’t last, I’m extremely grateful for the new ones that I’ve made.

It’s easy to take the little things in life like having running water, being able to get around, knowing how to read, for granted, but don’t take people for granted. Friendships aren’t litte things. God created us as social beings and He knew we would need each other to make it trough this crazy thing called life.

So stop whatever you’re doing right now and take time to tell your friends and loved ones that you appreciate them being in your life.