Fall Begins in Due West

Due West Fall Festival

Although the weather doesn’t quite feel like it yet, fall is here and it has begun to come to Erskine. We had several days last week that were cooler, teasing us all into thinking that maybe the heat was finished for the season, but we’re back into the 80’s again.  However, here and there the leaves are starting to change a little, even falling in some cases, and this morning was the annual Due West Fall Festival.

I admit that I had never been before, even though I remember being woken up by the music outside my window two years ago, so this year – my last – I decided to make a point of going.  My sister and I went about a half an hour before lunch, and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the festival that Due West can put on.

It was a little like a flea market, with hand made goods – baskets, jewelry, woodworking  – used clothes and house wares, a few inflatable toys for children, a stage with local bands and karaoke, a couple dozen old cars on display, and of course lots of great food, from boiled peanuts to pound cakes.  We found a few nice little handmade things for great prices, and got to meet some really nice people from the area.  I’m glad that I finally decided to take part in this Due West tradition!

Cars on display at the Festival

The Erskine Model A making an appearance at the Festival.