Crossing Cultures

I had a unique experience yesterday evening of connecting three languages by watching one movie.  Last fall, Erskine started a French club with the purpose of infusing Due West with a little Francophone culture.  Although I am not part of the group, I have enjoyed attending a couple of their events this year, which are open to everyone on campus who is interested.

Last night, they hosted a viewing of the 2009 movie Coco Avant Chanel, which explores the early life of fashion icon Coco Chanel.  In addition to the excellent performance of Audrey Tautou as Coco, being a good movie overall, and my growing knowledge of French (though still quite limited), I was also seeing the movie for the second time.  While I was studying abroad in Spain this movie came on television and I watched part of it – dubbed in Spanish – with my host mother.

Seeing it again yesterday was such a strange, yet exciting experience; the first time I saw it in Spanish, and this time I listened to it in French and read the English subtitles (my French is not quite good enough to know what is going on without them).  Watching brought back memories of Spain, and it was fun to see it again – in its entirety – and add a new perspective to my previous experience in watching it.

It’s funny how aspects from one part of your life can suddenly pop up in another part, interconnecting your experiences.