Free Time… in College?

From yesterday afternoon through this morning I had a rare privilege of free time; and not just free time, but copious amounts of it… in college, in April?!

First, my acting class was cancelled yesterday afternoon, so I had the entire afternoon free, which was pretty exciting.  Then, my nursery job at the ARP church in town was cancelled, because in lieu of their usual Wednesday evening service, they were all going to the Kirkin’ of the Tartan service being held at the seminary, and no one came to my Supplemental Instruction session, so my entire evening was free of commitment.  Finally, my conducting class was cancelled this morning, and I decided not to go to convocation this morning, to finish celebrating my 24-hours of nothing to do!

A few of my paintbrushes were glad to be used again.

So, what on earth I did with all my free time?  I am proud to say that I did not spend it all sleeping, or playing on Facebook, or entirely wasting my time.  Instead, I found a happy medium of work and play.

A scene from the 1938 movie "Algiers" that I watched yesterday.

Yesterday afternoon I put in a movie and worked on a project, then various bits of homework until dinner time.  On a whim I decided to go on Skype, and my good friend Alex (who is in veterinary school in Scotland) happened to be on, so I skipped dinner for a good long chat with him.  I then made a light dinner in my room and continued to work on homework, getting a good bit of reading and French studying done.  I even took about an hour and a half to break out some long-unused art supplies and try a little bit of painting, which was only moderately successful, but still enjoyable and relaxing.  I went to bed just before midnight and woke up at 8:00 (yes, that is EIGHT hours of sleep!) to get ready and enjoy a leisurely breakfast in Moffatt of blueberry muffins and an omelet (breakfast is definitely the best meal in the dining hall).  For the rest of this morning I did some reading for my New Testament class, took an impromptu nap, made some tea, and decided to skip convo and write a blog about this unexpected vacation.

And that’s it.  Nothing too crazy, but what a nice surprise it has been.  Soon I’ll head off to lunch and then resume a more demanding schedule, but I feel quite refreshed and ready to go.  Thank God for the little blessings!