Good Conversation with Good Company

Something that college students like to do occasionally (or, for some, quite regularly) is stay up until the wee hours of the morning engaging in great conversations with friends.  Granted, this is not the smartest thing to do when you have class the next morning at 8:00 or 9:00, but on a Friday night, this is a great way to spend your time.

Robinson 2 Lobby - Site of many a late-night conversation.

Last night, after a long day of travel down to and back from Charleston with the Choraleers, who sang at a musical convention, I enjoyed one of these hours-long talks.  It started on the way home with one friend on the bus – as I shared some of my favorite Spanish artists, we began talking about music and ended up doing so for most of the ride back.  When we arrived and I got back to my dorm, I soon took a trip to Java City with a couple of the girls on my hall.  We ended up staying there until about 1:00 am, but when we got back to Robinson the conversation continued in our hall lobby for quite a while.  I won’t say exactly what time it was when we finally went to sleep, but suffice to say that we heard a few birds starting to chirp outside (that’s when you know it is past time to go to bed).

I have been so busy this semester and focused on trying to get all of my homework finished on the weekends that I have not had many opportunities for these conversations.  I have abbreviated versions for perhaps an hour on the occasional afternoon or evening, but I have missed such long, impromptu discussions.  I also really enjoyed last night’s talk because I have not gotten to know the three girls involved as well as I would have liked, partially because they are all sophomores, so we have not had as much time together at Erskine.  I am glad, though, that the community of dorms affords such opportunities for fellowship, or else I would not get to know so many great young women at Erskine.  I am also thankful that with only four weeks left (yep, the countdown is starting), I have a manageable amount of things to do, so I am not so pressed for time that I can’t enjoy such small pleasures of college.