“The Mirror”: A Reflection

Last year I wrote that I never thought I would be writing for a school publication, but this year I took a step farther and found myself as the editor for the Arts & Culture section of our school newspaper, The Mirror.  Although it can be a challenge to find students who are willing and, more importantly, have time to write articles for my section, I have really enjoyed the challenge.

Being involved in the performing arts at Erskine, it was easy for me to keep up with what was going on, though I had to work harder to keep up with the visual arts.  However, as I found out, it can be a challenge to find an interesting angle for each article – sometimes it is all right just to write about what happened, but as all the staff found out this year, students are much more interested in reading and writing articles that give it a unique perspective.  For example, this Monday afternoon was the reception for the senior art show.  Instead of just writing about the event, though, my friend Rebecca wrote only a little bit of a “traditional” article, because she interviewed the two senior art majors (with a combination of serious and lighthearted questions, which also makes for a good story).  This sort of article is much more popular, because students would rather hear the opinions and stories of other students than just a recap of what happened.

I have to admit that all this is partially to advertise the newspaper, because I think more people should read it – we’ve been improving the newspaper so much this year, and I think it appeals to a much wider audience.  Whatever your interest is, you’ll find lots of student-written, -edited, and –published articles at: http://www.erskinemirror.com/, or check out our Facebook page:  http://www.facebook.com/erskinemirror (Seriously, check it out, especially the Arts & Culture section!)  But I also want to point out that it just goes to show that you never know what you’ll get into in college, especially at a small one like Erskine.  I’m not sure that I will be active later in any sort of journalism, but it certainly does not hurt to have this experience.  And, if nothing else, I enjoyed doing something different, from writing articles and editorials to being an editor myself.