Henna Lessons

I am currently typing one-handed, because I have just returned from getting a henna tattoo.  Erskine’s BCM (Baptist Collegiate Ministries) sponsored an afternoon of henna as a fundraiser (only $5 for a hand- or foot-design) last Friday, but since Choraleers were singing in Charleston I was not able to support them.  Luckily, the event was such a success that they sold gift certificates for a henna design later, so I got mine done this morning.

My henna design drying.

Henna has been used in recent years in missions, in countries that use this traditional form of body art.  Designs are created to teach Bible stories, with each element of the henna symbolizing an element of the story.  I love this concept, because it is such a creative way to spread the gospel through a familiar element of the host culture of the missionaries.  I should also mention, for those who don’t know about henna tattoos, that they are created from a paste made of crushed henna leaves; the paste is applied in a design that, when left to dry, dyes your skin for a few of weeks – not permanently.  I won’t type too much more since this one-handed typing is very inhibiting on the keyboard (I got my left hand done and it is still drying), but you can see a picture of my henna at left, which tells the story of Elijah in 1 Kings 19.

Update: After a couple of hours, my henna dried and started flaking off, which was a sign to scrape/wash the rest off.  I am very pleased with the final product!  I have been showing off my design all day and explaining the story in its pictures. . .  such a beautiful art.

The final product!