St. Andrews: the first week in pictures

this grass was completely covered in snow when I walked by the night before. The grass is so green!

this grass was completely covered in snow when I walked by the night before. The grass is so green!

view of the Cathedral from the road

view of the Cathedral from the road

old stained-glass window on the Cathedral

old stained-glass window on the Cathedral

looking to the right of the Cathedral: how beautiful!

looking to the right of the Cathedral: how beautiful!

posing by the tiny archway--people must have been shorter back then!  Molly, me, Jordan, and Ross

posing by the tiny archway–people must have been shorter back then!
Molly, me, Jordan, and Ross

every time I walk through this section of road, I feel as if I am traveling backwards in time.

every time I walk through this section of road, I feel as if I am traveling backwards in time. Pictured: Max, Ross, & Molly

the old pier: we walked all the way to the end and as I admired the view and the fresh air, I thought about all of the footsteps that I was walking in. what history!

the old pier: we walked all the way to the end and as I admired the view and the fresh air, I thought about all of the footsteps that I was walking in. what history!

I took this at the end of the old pier, looking back toward town and the Cathedral

I took this at the end of the old pier, looking back toward town and the Cathedral

as we were climbing from the higher part of the old pier, we discovered this little niche that was a perfect fit for me!

as we were climbing from the higher part of the old pier, we discovered this little niche that was a perfect fit for me!

looking toward the Cathedral from the back as the sun was just beginning to set

looking toward the Cathedral from the back as the sun was just beginning to set

St. Andrews Castle

St. Andrews Castle

me posing on the beach below the Castle

me posing on the beach below the Castle

we walked out to explore the huge rocks on the beach, and a nice stranger took our picture

we walked out to explore the huge rocks on the beach, and a nice stranger took our picture

This is one of my favorite pictures I have taken so far.  4 of my new friends: Max, Ross, Molly, and Jordan

This is one of my favorite pictures I have taken so far. 4 of my new friends: Max, Ross, Molly, and Jordan

This is supposed to have been planted by Mary, Queen of Scots.

This is supposed to have been planted by Mary, Queen of Scots.

This is the psychology & neuroscience building--so beautiful!

This is the psychology & neuroscience building–so beautiful!

I took this standing in the middle of St. Mary's Quad, looking toward the South Street entrance. Over that archway are the words "In pricipio erat verbum."

I took this standing in the middle of St. Mary’s Quad, looking toward the South Street entrance. Over that archway are the words “In pricipio erat verbum.”

This is the Old Library in St. Mary's Quad, where all 3 of my psychology modules meet.  My friend Mark is walking along the aisle.

This is the Old Library in St. Mary’s Quad, where all 3 of my psychology modules meet. My friend Mark is walking along the aisle.

I snapped this looking out of the window in the arts building, where my Scottish Music module meets. the sunrise is always so beautiful!  The views from this building always take my breath away.

I snapped this looking out of the window in the arts building, where my Scottish Music module meets. the sunrise is always so beautiful! The views from this building always take my breath away.

This was the first red phone booth I saw while in the UK. I was quite excited to see one in real life!

This was the first red phone booth I saw while in the UK. I was quite excited to see one in real life!