This is what happens when finals are over…

As promised, I will give a brief run-through of my final couple of weeks in St Andrews, which–aside from exams–was more fun than should probably be allowed.

Exams at St Andrews are WAY more stressful than exams at Erskine.  Never in my life have I had one, much less three, exams that counted for 75% of my mark for a class!  And my fourth exam was 50% of my grade. Talk about pressure.  Another first for me: taking an exam with a few hundred students in one room of rows and rows of desks.  Talk about distracting.  And I refuse to admit how little sleep I got when I had 3 exams in 4 days.  Lots of prayer and the fantastic support of true friends got me through that week.  Fortunately, I then had a weekend plus two days to recover and study for the last one.  Grades were  released a couple of days ago, and I am quite happy with my results! 

My last final was the morning of Wednesday, 22 May.  St Andrews University has countless fun traditions (all of which I would be quite interested to know the origins of), one of which is Soakings.  Tradition states that as each leaver, normally graduating fourth-years, is absolutely drenched with buckets of water, water pistols, or whatever other means of soaking someone their friends can come up with.  In some cases, friends decide that postgraduate students and study abroad students also qualify for soakings, which is how I happened to get soaked after MY last final.  Fortunately, it was an absolutely gorgeous St Andrews day, which made it slightly less freezing walking back to my hall after about 10 friends dumped cold water on me.  As it was me, there is, of course, photographic evidence of the occasion [thanks to my friend Donald] which I  gladly share below.  I don’t think there was a dry square centimetre on me!

Top left: My "I'm so excited to be finished!" pose Centre: Getting a huge tub of water dumped on me by Aaron and Cory Top right: after everyone had finished dumping cold water on me. COLD! Bottom left: posing with my Swing Soc friends (L>>R: Sara, Alex, me, Martin, Lawrence) Bottom right: posing with some friends from Melville (L>>R:Adam, me, Aaron, Cory) [Thanks to Donald for taking photos!]

Top left: “I’m so excited to be finished!”
Centre: Getting a huge tub of water dumped on me by Aaron and Cory
Top right: after everyone had finished dumping cold water on me. Did I say cold yet? COLD.
Bottom left: posing with my Swing Soc friends (L>>R: Sara, Alex, me, Martin, Lawrence)
Bottom right: posing with some friends from Melville (L>>R:Adam, me, Aaron, Cory)

 I then spent the rest of the day with my academic mum and dad, Laura and Lawrence, whom I introduced in an earlier post.  We went to Laura’s house and cooked a delicious brunch of omelets and bagels, then took a walk along Lady Brae’s.  We stopped in the park and played on the swings, then Lawrence fell asleep in the grass while Laura and I made daisy chains and I danced around barefoot.  It was definitely a fabulous hippie moment.

Miscellaneous shots from our wanderings through the woods; it was truly a perfect day!

Miscellaneous shots from our wanderings through the woods; it was truly a perfect day!

We had so much fun in the park! Who said swings were just for kids?

We had so much fun in the park! Who said swings were just for kids?

We continued to town for a few things, then made our way to West Sands and met up with some friends from Swing Soc and the Gilbert & Sullivan Society.  We spent a fun afternoon talking, snacking, and playing cricket on the beach while the sounds of a bagpipe corps drifted over on the breeze.  I felt quintessentially British.

Here is a collection of the photos I took during our afternoon on West Sands; ignoring the cricket and bagpipes, it was the most like Charleston St Andrews ever felt!

Here is a collection of the photos I took during our afternoon on West Sands; ignoring the cricket and bagpipes, it was the most like Charleston St Andrews ever felt!

 Upon adding photographs, albeit collages, I just realised that to continue with an entire week’s worth of stories would make this an exceptionally long post.  To be continued in a later entry…