but wait: there’s more! (Dresden continued)

As I said in my last post, there are so many more parts of Dresden that I want to share that I decided to do a second post.  These other adventures include: exploring Dresden Zwinger (the palace), [me] singing outside of the Semperoper (the opera house), admiring the Fürstenzug and other murals, having a delicious lunch in a bakery, exploring this awesome store called Globetrotter, and other assorted adventures around the city.

I think I am going to let my pictures do the talking; as always, click on any photo to see the full-size version.  I’ve included descriptions for almost everything.

Posing in the courtyard gardens of the Dresden Palace. It was immense and so lovely!

Posing in the courtyard gardens of Dresden Zwinger, the Dresden Palace. It was immense and so lovely!

Another view looking into the courtyard

Another view looking into the main courtyard of the Zwinger.

An interior courtyard of the Zwinger; statues lined all of the walls surrounding a fountain.

An interior courtyard of the Zwinger; statues lined all of the walls surrounding a fountain.

One of countless fountains in the Zwinger; empty for winter, it was still a beautiful sight to behold!

One of countless fountains in the Zwinger; empty for winter, it was still a beautiful sight to behold!

The Dresden Opera House

Semperoper; The Dresden Opera House

Yes, I actually sang on this statue outside of the opera house. (The photo may be posed but the singing was real.)

Yes, I actually sang on this statue outside of the opera house. (The photo may be posed but the singing was real.)

I love these beautiful ladies!

I love these beautiful ladies!

The Fürstenzug on Augustusstrasse; it was nearly impossible to get this entire mural into one shot, but it shows centuries of Germanic princes and historical figures.

The Fürstenzug on Augustusstrasse; it was nearly impossible to get this entire mural into one shot, but it shows centuries of Germanic princes and historical figures.

Hannah, Anna, and Christabel posing like some of the figures on the wall.

Hannah, Anna, and Christabel posing like some of the figures on the wall.

mural

German bakery. Delectable.  (left to right: Anna, Scott, Nick, Christabel, and Hannah)

German bakery. Delectable.
(left to right: Anna, Scott, Nick, Christabel, and Hannah)

We found an awesome six-person bicycle and tried it out for size. It was quite an interesting contraption!

We found an awesome six-person bicycle and tried it out for size. It was quite an interesting contraption!

I cannot remember what this building was but it was immense and beautiful.  Have you noticed a common theme yet?

I cannot remember what this building was but it was immense and beautiful. Have you noticed a common theme yet?

Nick, Hannah, me, Christabel, and Anna posing in one of the many picturesque parts of Dresden.

Nick, Hannah, me, Christabel, and Anna posing in one of the many picturesque parts of Dresden.

Christabel showed off her gymnastic skills; unfortunately I caught the shot on her way down.

Christabel showed off her gymnastic skills; unfortunately I caught the shot on her way down.

University kids know how to entertain themselves.

University kids know how to entertain themselves.

I have a thing for doors. I found this under a giant staircase and really wanted to see what was on the other side, but unfortunately it was locked.

I have a thing for doors. I found this under a giant staircase and really wanted to see what was on the other side, but unfortunately it was locked.

A collage of photos I took inside the Globetrotter store; there was actually a multi-story climbing wall, an indoor pond, and rain falling from the ceiling.

A collage of photos I took inside the Globetrotter store; there was actually a multi-story climbing wall, an indoor pond, and rain falling from the ceiling.