more of Mainz

You may be sick of hearing about Germany by this point; I promise that I am more than halfway done though.  Just to cheer you up, I’ll start you with a fun fact: Carnival is HUGE is Mainz!  So big that they have a statue dedicated to it in the centre of town with over 200 unique figures on it to celebrate their favourite celebration.  I would love to experience Carnival some time in my life!

Anna and I posing in front of the Carnival statue. It's actually much larger than it looks in the photo.

Anna and I posing in front of the Carnival statue. It’s actually much larger than it looks in the photo.

To continue where my last post left off, the next church Anna took us to is called Petruskirche, or St. Peter’s Church.  The baccalaureate ceremony for her high school graduation was in this church.  If I ever attended a service in this church, I’m not sure I would be able to pay attention at all to what was being said.  Pictures truly are worth [at least] a thousand words, and I think the photographs below are explanation enough for this (click to enlarge):

looking in ceiling the organ! to the left altar to the right

Of all the beauty contained here, I think the organ has to be my favourite.  I also have an immense respect for the artists who painted this church.

Never fear: we visited some Protestant churches too!  I really enjoyed Christuskirche, or Christ Church, which was built around the turn of the 19th century and rebuilt after World War II.  We also got to sit in on a rehearsal for an Easter concert the church was hosting.  It was wonderful to warm up from the cold outdoors while hearing some very talented musicians rehearse.  Not wanting to be too much of a distraction, we didn’t take many pictures inside.

Christuskirche Mainz entrance

Our last stop before the train station that evening was–believe it or not–a shopping mall.  Now, I definitely do not enjoy shopping but Anna wanted to show us what was under the mall: an ancient Roman temple dedicated to Isis, the Egyptian goddess of fertility, and Mater Magna [Great Mother], a goddess favoured by soldiers.  We got there just as it was closing but the lady was nice enough to let us down to see it as long as we didn’t take too long.  This article goes in-depth into the history and discovery of the temple–so interesting!  I began my day in a thousand-year-old cathedral and ended it examining ruins and artefacts over 2500 years old!  We’re talking Old Testament times here.  I wonder what those who built and worshipped here would think of it now.  Below are some of the photos I took; the article I linked to above has more.

Roman temple ancient artifacts temple ruins

We DID buy something in the mall after all; when we had looked around the ruins we went and got ice cream! I mixed raspberry and the Mozart flavour which was quite possibly the best ice cream I’ve had in my life!

ice cream and smiles

I will conclude with some miscellaneous photos that I took around the city.  My next travel post will focus on my final adventures in Germany.  God bless! xx

This is the Proviant-Magazin in Mainz.  I love the building and I love the sunlight in the picture.

This is the Proviant-Magazin in Mainz. I love the building and I love the sunlight in the picture.

This is the Landtag Rheinland-Pfalz, a central government building in Mainz.  [This explains what exactly it is: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Landtag_of_Rhineland-Palatinate]

This is the Landtag Rheinland-Pfalz, a central government building in Mainz. [This explains what exactly it is: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Landtag_of_Rhineland-Palatinate%5D

Left: a Roman column of Jupiter still standing Right: a larger-than-life hourglass that actually turns; we happened to be there just about on the hour

Left: a Roman column of Jupiter still standing
Right: a larger-than-life hourglass that actually turns; we happened to be there just about on the hour

Top: Statue over the doorway of a building.  I love little architectural details! Bottom: a random sculpture of a foot--I'm not certain whether there was actually more to it at one point, or what its significance is.

Top: Statue over the doorway of a building. I love little architectural details!
Bottom: a random sculpture of a foot–I’m not certain whether there was actually more to it at one point, or what its significance is.