Frankfurt finale

I promise this is my last post about Germany (for a long while, at least).  Nothing against Germany.  Au contraire: I adore Germany, but I think it is time for me to finally move on.  So I conclude with a few more photos and stories of my day in Frankfurt with Anna.

After the Cathedral, we went some place a bit different.  Paulskirche (St Paul’s Church) was rebuilt after WWII and turned into a conference/meeting area and a museum of sorts.  It was almost a little sad to me to see it not being used as a church any more, but I am very glad that they rebuilt it and that the building can still be used and appreciated.  I also love the modern organ, which I feel is a nod to its history as a place of worship.  I also think they did a great job fusing the old look with a modern facelift.

Paulskirche (St Paul's Church), built in 1790.  This was the location of the first German National Assembly, where the first German Constitution was resolved (1848).  It was rebuilt in 1948 following World War II.  Now a meeting area and museum, this was the site of President John F. Kennedy's "Ich ben ein Berliner" speech.  Talk about walking in the footsteps of history!

Paulskirche (St Paul’s Church), built in 1790. This was the location of the first German National Assembly, where the first German Constitution was resolved (1848). It was rebuilt in 1948 following World War II.

Left: what the church looked like when it was first built Right: after the bombing of Frankfurt during WWII

Left: what the church looked like when it was first built
Right: after the bombing of Frankfurt during WWII

inside collage

Our next stop was a Catholic church called St. Leonhard’s.  (Has anyone else noticed that the majority of places I visited in Europe are churches? I regret nothing.)  Anna and I lit candles and spent some time praying here.  There were so many others there worshipping, too. I love seeing that!  Like so many European churches, this one is–literally–ancient.  It started as a chapel in 1219, and acquired relics from St. Leonhard in 1322.  Here are a few photos:

outside altar quiet moment

Anna and I each lit a candle here and spent a while praying. It was such a lovely, peaceful moment.  The Lord is truly present in the still, quiet moments of life!

Anna and I each lit a candle here and spent a while praying. It was such a lovely, peaceful moment. The Lord is truly present in the still, quiet moments of life!

A beautiful German prayer asking the Lord to be the light that we may walk by in the darkness of our lives.

A beautiful German prayer asking the Lord to be the light that we may walk by in the darkness of our lives.

I thought it a bit odd that there was such modern art in such an ancient cathedral, but I was also greatly drawn to it.

I thought it a bit odd that there was such modern art in such an ancient cathedral, but I was also greatly drawn to it.

Now, I am normally not a huge fan of shopping (no, really).  But Frankfurt has literally the coolest shopping mall I have ever seen in my entire life.  The Zeilgalerie is 10 stories tall with a rooftop viewpoint where you can admire the city from above.

the Zeilgalerie,by far the largest shopping centre I have ever seen.  It is 8 or 10 stories high and a rooftop terrace where you can eat in the café and admire the Frankfurt skyline.

the Zeilgalerie,by far the largest shopping centre I have ever seen.

another view of the Zeilgalerie

another view of the Zeilgalerie

I felt like I was in the Jetson’s or something: I don’t think I have ever been in so modern-looking of a building.It also boasts a ridiculously tall escalator, 4 or 5 stories tall.  Anna, bless her heart, is not fond of heights but rode it with me to the top! And then we had Chinese food. In Germany. Yep.

Here is a collage of photos I took inside Zeilgalerie.  Seriously. How cool is this? Just look.

Here is a collage of photos I took inside Zeilgalerie. Seriously. How cool is this? Just look.

We also shopped around a bit and then went to the roof.  THE ROOF.  Frankfurt is gorgeous from every view, including above.  I can find few words to say how fun it was to see, especially as the sun was beginning to set, so again I will let some pictures speak for me.

skyline

I know I just had almost the exact same picture (with me), but the sky in this photo just blows me away. This picture is not edited at all: I snapped the picture at just the right moment when the sun was peeking through the clouds the perfect way. How gorgeous is God's creation?!

I know I just had almost the exact same picture (with me), but the sky in this photo just blows me away. This picture is not edited at all: I snapped the picture at just the right moment when the sun was peeking through the clouds the perfect way. How gorgeous is God’s creation?!

My turn.

My turn.

What a beautiful German church! It doesn't look very big until you consider that those little ant-sized shapes on the ground are full size people.

What a beautiful German church! It doesn’t look very big until you consider that those little ant-sized shapes on the ground are full size people.

No visit of mine to a European city is complete without visiting the opera house.  This was our last stop on the way back to the train station.  Along the way we passed the largest book store I’ve ever seen.  Frankfurt has a habit of impressing me.  There was a university orientation activity going on, so we were around large groups of German freshers chanting and cheering and acting rather silly at times.  I wish I spoke enough German to understand what they were saying, but I’m glad they were enjoying themselves.

pretty

This is the largest book store I have ever seen in my life! I dearly wish we could have gone inside, but I would probably still be there if we had.  Anna said that they have a massive selection of English books as well.

This is the largest book store I have ever seen in my life! I dearly wish we could have gone inside, but I would probably still be there if we had. Anna said that they have a massive selection of English books as well.

where old and new meet city at sunset

the Frankfurt Opera Hosue

the Frankfurt Opera Hosue

opera house detail

I will conclude my stories of Germany with a photo of one of the people that led me there in the first place: the wonderful, beautiful Anna.  I am truly blessed to know this lady and to have had the opportunity to spend a couple of days with her.  Thank you thank you thank you for everything Anna! From meeting you and befriending you at Fort Dorchester to the postcard you sent me from the Vatican, to seeing you in Germany, you are a truly lovely sister in Christ. xx

xxx

xxx