The Erskine Experience

Hello Readers!

Now that we have been formally introduced there is time to go into all of the juicy details of my Erskine experience. I have seen, done, and learned a lot of things in my time here at Erskine. Some might think that at a school this size there would be a shortage of things to do. Such a thought could not be further from the truth. As a matter of fact, the main ‘problem’ with Erskine students is that they find far too many things to do! But with all of the great opportunities, who could blame us for being so busy? It sounds like I’m selling something, but just to prove my point I’ll include some examples.

In my time at Erskine I have: captured multiple poisonous animals for extra credit, done set up and backstage work for bands like Jars of Clay and Manchester Orchestra, organized ski trips and whitewater rafting excursions for myself and over a dozen of my peers, nailed down the 40 pound stakes for the giant blow-up drive in movie screen, taken classes on probability and risk assessment through card games, been an active helper and attender of campus ministry, made more friends than I could have ever have imagined, stayed up all night more times than any man should, found a fiance, and played WAY TOO MUCH Ultimate Frisbee. See my point?

I am by no means a rare exception in this regard. There are many others with the same kind of rich and varied experiences here in good old Due West. The above list is by no means exhaustive, and I’m sure that there will be a lot of other things that I talk about this semester that aren’t on it.

We definitely have a lot of fun here, but these experiences stick in my head because they were times not only full of joy, but of meaning as well. It has been a motto of mine here at college that “The most important lessons that we learn are outside of the classroom.” Don’t get me wrong, I am a firm believer in college, especially Erskine College; I wouldn’t be here otherwise. Yet it’s the time and space between the classrooms that seem to shape us into the men and women who we will be at the end of our time at Erskine. A college experience cannot be summed up with a piece of paper and a GPA. We as people are more than that, and Erskine is definitely more than that.

God bless,

-BD

One comment on “The Erskine Experience

  1. RameyLady says:

    Indeed! Many of my most important college experiences had nothing to do with a classroom. College centers on the learning experiences provided by professors, but I think the whole atmosphere has a lot to do with it.

Comments are closed.