RUF– First Impressions

Today I celebrated the last day of the first weekend after my first week of class at Erskine and what better way to celebrate than by going to RUF at the Barn? For those of you who don’t know, RUF (Reformed University Fellowship) is a nationwide Christian organization for college students. Here at Erskine, RUF meets on Sundays at 5:30 at a barn behind the RUF minister, Paul Patrick’s house. Tonight was my first RUF session as a college student and I have to say that it was pretty great, despite the sweltering heat and the scratchy hay bales. That’s right. The barn was filled with rows of hay bales for the students to sit on while eating dinner or during the service. I’m not some sissy girl who hates to venture outdoors, but there is just something disagreeable about hay digging into your thighs when you’re trying to learn about God. But I digress..

My awesome friend, Seth Gurley, gave me a ride to the Barn. He’s the absolute best! We went to the same church in high school and we have been friends ever since. Seth’s only flaw is that he is a baseball player, but I try not to hold that against him. 😉

76820_3397641434547_1086710025_n

Here’s an old, awkward picture of us together. It’s the only one I could find. 😛

 Paul Patrick brilliantly starts RUF sessions at the Barn with something that all college kids love and need: food. Fifteen minutes after I arrived, volunteer students served us hamburgers, hotdogs, potato salad, baked beans, potato chips, cookies, lemonade, sweet tea, and water. To sum everything up, my tummy was very happy. 🙂 

The everlasting food line

The everlasting food line

After dinner, the service started and it was INCREDIBLE. We sang both old hymns such as Nothing But The Blood, Come Thou Fount, Jesus I My Cross Have Taken and newer songs like Isaiah 43. I absolutely love those songs and the setting of singing in a barn with my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ was absolutely perfect. Singing was definitely my favorite part of RUF tonight, but the lesson was also pretty tops. Paul Patrick introduced the book of James and gave some background information about the author.The lesson was really interesting because I have studied the Bible all my life and I had never learned any of the things that Paul Patrick talked about. 

For example, I hadn’t realized that James, the brother of Jesus, had doubted Jesus’ power and glory during His time on earth. However, after His death on the cross, James repented and became one of the most well-known apostles of Jesus. His story gives me so much hope for the ones I know who are so skeptical and opposed to Christianity. It’s so easy to forget that God is in control of everything in our lives and that He has a plan for all of us. However James is a testimony to all of us that God can change anyone’s heart. 

So that’s a brief recap of my first real experience with Erskine’s RUF. I can’t wait to see how the rest of the year will turn out!